National Association of State
Motorcycle Safety Administrators

SMSA Members Only Section

Home | Directory | Resources | Documents | Media | Motorcycle Awareness | Surveys | Spotlight Magazine | Listserv

 

SMSA Executive Committee

Chairperson
Sunshine Beer (Term Expires 9/2018)
Director
Idaho STAR Program
3500 W. Chinden Blvd
Boise, ID 83714
Phone: (208) 639-4546 / FAX: (208)639-4550
Email: sunshine@idahostar.org


Vice-Chairperson & At-Large Member
Raymond Pierce (Term Expires 9/2019)
Program Manager
Missouri Motorcycle Safety Program
Humprhrey's #200
Warrensburg, MO 64093
Phone: (660) 543-8005/ FAX: (660) 543-4574
Email: rpierce@ucmo.edu

Secretary & Eastern Region Representative
Paul Graves (Term Expires 9/2018)
Program Coordinator
VT DMV Rider Education Program
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603
Phone: (802) 828-2068 / FAX: (802) 828-2092
Email: paul.graves@vermont.gov

Treasurer &At Large Member
Edith Peters (Term Expires 9/2019)
Florida Dept. of Transportation
605 Suwannee St
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone: (850) 414-4043
Email: Edith.Peters@dot.state.fl.us

 

Central Region Representative
Chuck Stiteler (Term Expires 9/2018)
Motorcycle Ohio
1970 W. Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43223
Phone: (513) 673-6750
Email: gcstiteler@dps.state.oh.us

Western Region Representative
Larry Starkey (Term Expires 9/2018)
California Highway Patrol
601 N. 7th Street
Sacramento, CA 95811
Phone: (916) 843-3368 / FAX: (916) 843-3393
Email: lstarkey@chp.ca.gov

At-Large Member
Chad Teachout (Term Expires 9/2019)
Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning
430 W Allegan
Lansing, MI 48918
Phone: (517) 241-6850
Email: teachoutC@michigan.gov

Individual Member Representative
Jay Jackson (Term Expires 9/2018)
ABATE of Indiana
PO Box 665
51 N Baldwin St
Bargersville, IN 46106
Phone: (317) 422-8040
Email: jay@abateonline.org

Supporting Member Representative
Roberta (Bobbie) Carlson (Term Expires 9/2019)
Total Control Training, Inc.
PO Box 1838
Victorville, CA 92393
Phone: (760) 220-5045 / FAX: (888) 381-6743
Email: bobbie@totalcontroltraining.net

Ex-Officio
Bruce Biondo
Program Manager
Virginia Rider Training Program
2300 W. Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23269
Phone: (804) 367-1813 / Fax (804) 367-6031
Email: BRUCE.BIONDO@dmv.virginia.gov

 

Click here for a printable version of the SMSA Executive Committee

SMSA Staff

SMSA Executive Director
Brett Robinson
1434 Trim Tree Road
Indiana, PA 15701
Work: (724) 801-8075 / FAX: (724) 349-5042
Email: brobinson@smsa.org

SMSA Office Manager
Leslie Robinson
1434 Trim Tree Road
Indiana, PA 15701
Work: (724) 801-8075 / FAX: (724) 349-5042
Email: office@smsa.org

SMSA IT Manager
Mark Ray
1434 Trim Tree Road
Indiana, PA 15701
Work: (724) 801-8075 / FAX: (724) 349-5042
Email: webmaster@smsa.org

SMSA Director of Traffic Safety & Licensing Programs
Christie Falgione
1434 Trim Tree Road
Indiana, PA 15701
Phone: (724) 801-8075 / FAX: (724) 349-5042
Email: clewis@highwaysafetyservices.com

SMSA Administrative Assistant
Shelia Dulion
1434 Trim Tree Road
Indiana, Pa. 15701
Work: (724) 801-8075 / FAX: (724) 349-5042
Email: office@smsa.org

SMSA Project Specialist
Tracy Krugh
1434 Trim Tree Road
Indiana, PA 15701
Phone: (724) 801-8075 / FAX: (724) 349-5042
Email: tkrugh@highwaysafetyservices.com

 

SMSA Directory

Arizona California Colorado
Alberto Gutier Larry Starkey Glenn Davis
Governor's Office of Highway Safety California Highway Patrol Motorcycle Safety Project Manager
1700 West Washington St, Ste 430 Enforcement and Planning Division Office of Transportation Safety
Phoenix, AZ 85007 601 N. 7th Street Colorado Department of Transportation
Ph: 602-255-3216 Sacramento, CA 95811 4201 E. Arkansas Ave.
agutier@azgohs.gov Phone:  (916) 843-3370 Denver, Colorado 80222
Fax:  (916) 843-3393 Phone: (303) 757-9462
lstarkey@chp.ca.gov FAX: (303) 757-9078
Website glenn.davis@state.co.us
Connecticut Delaware Florida
Nicholas Just Glenn E. Kemp Edith Peters
Program Manager Coordinator Traffic Safety Officer
Department of Transportation Delaware Motorcycle Program Florida Dept of Transportation
State Highway Safety Office P.O. Box 698 605 Suwannee St
P.O. Box 317546 Dover, Delaware 19903 Tallahassee FL 32399
2800 Berlin Turnpike Phone:302/744-2549 Phone: 850-414-4043
Newington, Connecticut 06131-7546 Glenn.Kemp@state.de.us Edith.Peters@dot.state.fl.us
Phone (860) 594-2369 Website
FAX (860) 594-2374
Rider Course Information:800 872-7433 
or (860) 594-2375
nicholas.just@ct.gov
Website
Hawaii Idaho Illinois
Christy Cowser Sunshine Beer Robert L. Williams
Highway Safety Manager Director Regulations & Training Unit Manager
Department of Transportation Idaho STAR Program Lindsay Faulkner
869 Punchbowl Street, Room 405 3500 W. Chinden Blvd Cycle Rider Safety Coordinator
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 Boise, Idaho  83714 Christopher Rector
Phone:  808-587-2360 Phone 208/639-4546 Cycle Rider Safety Coordinator
Fax:  808-587-6303 Toll Free 1-888-280-7827 Illinois Department of Transportation,
christy.m.cowser@hawaii.gov FAX 208/639-4550 Bureau of Safety Programs and Engineering
Sunshine@idahostar.org 2300 S. Dirksen Parkway, Room 007
Website Springfield, Illinois 62764
Phone (217) 782-3568
robert.l.williams@illinois.gov
Lindsay.Faulkner@Illinois.gov
christopher.rector@illinois.gov
Website
Iowa Kansas Maryland
Melissa Speigel Norraine Wingfield Philip Sause
Director Project Director Motorcycle Safety Program Manager
iowa Department of Transporation Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office Motor Vehicle Administration
6310 SE Convenience Blvd 2930 SW Wanamaker Dr, Ste 100 6601 Ritchie Highway NE
Ankeny, IA 50021 Topeka, KS 66614 Glen Burnie,   MD  21062
Phone: 515-237-3253 Phone: 1-800-416-2522 Phone: (410) 424-3731
melissa.spiegel@dot.iowa.gov ktsro@dccca.org FAX: (410) 424-3101
Website Website psause@mva.maryland.gov
Website
Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota
Eugene F. Carabine Chad Teachout Bill Shaffer
Program Coordinator, MA Rider Ed. Prog. State Coordinator State Program Administrator
Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles Michigan Motorcycle Safety Program Office of Traffic Safety
1250 St James Avenue 430 W. Allegan Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Springfield, MA   01104 Lansing, Michigan  48918 444 Cedar Street, Suite 150
Phone: 857-368-2903 Phone:  (517) 241-6850 St. Paul, MN 55101-5150
FAX: 413-455-3646 teachoutC@michigan.gov Phone: (651) 201-7075
eugene.carabine@state.ma.us FAX: (651) 297-4844
Website William.Shaffer@state.mn.us
website
Missouri Montana Nebraska
Ray Pierce Jim Morrow Fred Zwonechek
Missouri Motorcycle Safety Montana Motorcycle Rider Safety Administrator
Humphreys 200-UCMO MSU - Northern Ne Dept. of Roads Highway Safety Office
Warrensburg, MO 64093 PO Box 7751 PO Box 94612
Phone: 660-543-8416 Havre, MT 59501-7751 Lincoln, NE 68509  
rpierce@ucmo.edu Phone:  406-265-3565 Phone: (402) 472-2515
Website FAX:  406-265-3570 Fax: (402) 471-3865
james.morrow@msun.edu fred.zwonechek@nebraska.gov
Website Website
Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey
Peter Vander Aa Larry Crowe Lori Sannella
Program Administrator State Coordinator, MRT New Jersey Motorcycle Safety Program
Nevada Rider Motorcycle Safety Program Dept. of Safety P.O. Box 131
Dept. of Public Safety/Office of Traffic Safety Division of Motor Vehicles Trenton, New Jersey  08666
Carson City, NV 89711-0100 23 Hazen Drive   Phone:  609-633-9488
Phone: (775) 684-7480 Concord     NH    03305 Fax:  609-341-5784
FAX: (775) 684-7482 603-227-4025 Lori.Sannella@mvc.nj.gov
pvanderaa@dps.state.nv.us lawrence.crowe@dos.nh.gov
Website
New York North Carolina North Dakota
Dan   Montimurro Bob Wagner Carol Thurn, Motorcycle Safety
Program Manager N. C. Motorcycle Safety Ed. Program Program Manager : Safety Division
NY DMV 602 West Harper Street ND Department of Transportation
6 Empire State Plaza Snow Hill, North Carolina 28580 608 East Boulevard Avenue
Albany, NY 12228 Phone (252) 747-7093 Bismarck ND 58505-0700
518-474-9830     FAX (252) 747-8063 Phone 701/328-4354
Daniel.Montimurro@dmv.ny.gov rdwagner62@lenoircc.edu Rider Course Information: (800)726-4094
Website FAX: 701/328-0310
cthurn@nd.gov
Ohio Oklahoma Oregon
Chuck Stiteler James D. Wilson Jeff Greiner
State Program Coordinator OK Department of Public Safety Transportation Safety Division - ODOT
Ohio Department of Public Safety 3223 N. Lincoln Blvd. 4040 Fairview Industrial Drive Dr Se MS-3
Motorcycle Ohio Oklahoma City, OK 73105 Salem, Oregon 97301
1970 West Broad Street jwilson@dps.state.ok.us Phone (503) 986-4198
Columbus, OH 43223 Website FAX: (503) 986-3143
Office (614) 466-6855 jeff.p.greiner@odot.state.or.us
gcstiteler@dps.state.oh.us Website
Website
Pennsylvania South Dakota Tennessee
Rochelle Harter Rick Kiley John Milliken, State Coordinator
Special Driver Programs Manager South Dakota Safety Council Motorcycle Rider Education Program
PennDOT 1108 N. West Avenue Tenn. Highway Patrol Training Center
1101 S. Front St  Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57104 283 Stewart's Ferry Pike
Harrisburg  PA     17106 Phone 605/361-7785 Nashville, TN 37214
717-346-9479 800#: (800) 952-5539 Phone: (615) 232-2901
rharter@pa.gov FAX: 605/361-2156 FAX: (615) 532-3606
kiley@southdakotasafetycouncil.org John.Milliken@tn.gov
Website Website
Texas Utah Vermont
John Young, Manager Christopher Caras        Paul A. Graves, Program Coordinator
Motorcycle Safety Unit Division Director Vermont Rider Education Program
Texas Department of Public Safety Utah Dept. of Public Safety Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
5805 N. Lamar Blvd 4501 S Constitution Blvd 120 State Street
Austin, Texas 78773-0257 Salt Lake City     UT    84129 Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
Phone: (512) 424-2021 801-965-4434 Phone: (802) 828-2068
Rider Course Information: (800) 292-5787 ccaras@utah.gov FAX: (802) 828-2092
FAX: (512) 424-2506 paul.graves@vermont.gov
johng.young@txdps.state.tx.us Website
Website
Virginia Washington Wisconsin
Bruce Biondo, Program Manager Bryan Jackson                    Sarah Buzzell
Virginia Rider Training Program MSP Manager Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program
P.O. Box 27412 WA State DOL Bureau of Transportation Safety
UPS - 2300 W. Broad St. 1125 Washington St SE Wisconsin State Patrol
Richmond, Virginia 23269 Olympia     WA    98507 4802 Sheboygan Avenue.,Rm 551
Phone (804) 367-1813 360-902-3664 P.O. Box 7936
FAX (804) 367-6031 brjackson@dol.wa.gov Madison, Wisconsin 53707
BRUCE.BIONDO@dmv.virginia.gov Phone: (608) 709-0080
Website Sarah.Buzzell@dot.wi.gov
Wyoming
Jennifer Goodrich
Program Manager
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne,  WY  82009-3340
Phone: (307) 631-3267
Rider Course Information: (888) 570-9904
FAX: (307) 777-4250
jennifer.goodrich@wyo.gov
Website